eMAEX – a standardized method of analyzing qualities of filmic expression

1

Within the project “The mobilization of emotions in war films” in the Cluster of Excellence “Languages of Emotion” we developed, using the example of a film genre—Hollywood war films—a systematic method by which viewer emotions are studied as cinematic multimodal expressive movement images; the electronically based media analysis of expressive-movement-images (eMAEX).

2

The eMAEX system is built on a series of stages: first the films are divided into semantic categories that differentiate between genre-specific pathos complexes. Then these “pathos scenes” undergo a qualitative analysis as a composition of audiovisual figurations of movement.

3

The development of a computerized methodology was one of the main objectives of the project “The mobilization of emotions in war films.” It provided the systematic and computerized foundation for further film and media studies research projects. The transferability of the eMAEX principles to other objects of study and other questions has already proven successful in further projects within the Cluster of Excellence.

The method of electronically based media analysis of expressive movement images (eMAEX) is introduced on the following page.

translation missing: en.icon_seitenanfang
request.remote_ip=54.167.15.6

eMAEX – Eine systematisierte Methode zur Untersuchung filmischer Ausdrucksqualitäten

 1

Innerhalb des Projektes „Affektmobilisierung und mediale Kriegsinszenierung“ im Exzellenzcluster „Languages of Emotion“ wurde anhand eines Filmgenres, dem Hollywood-Kriegsfilm, eine systematisierte Methode entwickelt, in der das Zuschauerempfinden als multimodale Ausdrucksbewegungsbilder des Films untersucht wird: electronically based media analysis of expressive-movement-images (eMAEX).

 2

Dabei gehen wir nach einem mehrstufigen Verfahren vor: zunächst werden die entsprechenden Filme systematisch in einzelne Szenen unterteilt, die jeweils kompositorische Einheiten bilden und denen je bestimmte emotionale Orientierungen zugeschrieben werden können. Anschließend werden diese Szenen als Komposition audiovisueller Bewegungsfigurationen qualitativ analysiert.

 3

Die Entwicklung einer EDV-gestützten Methodik stellte eines der wesentlichen Ziele des Projekts „Affektmobilisierung und mediale Kriegsinszenierung“ dar; mit ihr wurde die systematische und informationstechnologische Grundlagenarbeit für weiterführende film- und medienwissenschaftliche Forschungsprojekte geschaffen. Die Übertragbarkeit der Prinzipen von eMAEX auf andere Gegenstände und spezielle Fragestellungen ist in weiteren Projekten des Forschunsbereichs bereits sehr erfolgreich umgesetzt.

Im Folgenden wird diese Methode der electronically based media analysis of expressive movement images (eMAEX) vorgestellt.

translation missing: de.icon_seitenanfang
request.remote_ip=54.145.124.143