Project objectives

In the first phase of the project, we examined the relationship of politics and aesthetics in Western European auteur cinema. Jacques Rancière’s ideas on politics as perception and sensory participation were a central point of reference. Looking at French Nouvelle Vague, Italian Neorealism and New German Cinema we investigated the ways in which these films enabled the experience of and reflection on the exceptional societal situation after World War II. The relationship of the individual to society was at the center of these investigations.

Our theoretical and film analytical investigations of national cinemas confirmed our hypothesis that Western European cinema was greatly influenced by American genre cinema. In the current grant phase we want to examine the other side of European cinema and investigate post-war genre cinema.  As the term connotes in film studies, we understand genre cinema to be a specific system of entertainment that structures the interplay of different poetics of affect.

We are now investigating the relationship of politics and aesthetics in Western European genre cinema. Questions of community and individuality remain at the center of our investigations. In a subproject, using Hannah Arendt’s concept of “shared common sense” (Gemeinsinn) we shall explore the ways in which genre cinema enables the experience of processes of judgment. Two other subprojects expand our historical perspective. In one we look at West German genre cinema between 1951 and 1962, the foci of the other are British and Italian B-movies of the 1950s and 1960s. These objects of study were chosen to fill a gap identified as a result of our research in the first grant period.

translation missing: en.icon_seitenanfang
request.remote_ip=3.236.50.173

Projektziele

In der ersten Förderphase haben wir nach dem Verhältnis zwischen Politik und Ästhetik im westeuropäischen Autorenkino gefragt. Die Überlegungen Jacques Rancières zur Politik als Wahrnehmung und sinnlicher Teilhabe bildeten dabei einen zentralen Bezugspunkt. Anhand der französischen Nouvelle Vague, des italienischen Neorealismus’ und des Neuen Deutschen Films haben wir untersucht, auf welche Weise die Filme die besondere gesellschaftliche Situation nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg erfahrbar machen und reflektieren. Fragen nach dem Verhältnis des Individuums zur Gemeinschaft standen dabei im Mittelpunkt.

Die filmanalytischen und theoretischen Auseinandersetzungen mit den nationalen Kinematographien haben eine Hypothese bestätigt, nämlich dass das US-amerikanische Genrekino einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf die westeuropäischen Filme ausübte. So möchten wir in der aktuellen Förderphase die bisher ausgesparte Kehrseite in den Blick nehmen und das Genrekino der Nachkriegszeit untersuchen. Ausgehend vom filmwissenschaftlichen Begriff verstehen wir das Genrekino als ein spezifisches System der Unterhaltungskultur, das ein Zusammenspiel unterschiedlicher Affektpoetiken organisiert.

Wir möchten nun das Verhältnis von Politik und Ästhetik im westeuropäischen Genrekino untersuchen. Die Fragen nach Gemeinschaft und Individualität stehen dabei weiterhin im Mittelpunkt. In einem Unterprojekt möchten wir im Anschluss an den Begriff des „Gemeinsinn“ (Hannah Arendt) untersuchen, auf welche Weise das Genrekino Urteilsprozesse erfahrbar macht. Die beiden weiteren Unterprojekte eröffnen eine historische Perspektive. Zum einen widmen wir uns dem westdeutschen Genrekino zwischen 1951 und 1962 und zum anderen den so genannten B-Genres im britischen und italienischen Kino der 1950er und 1960er Jahre. Diese Gegenstandsfelder antworten auf ein grundlegendes Desiderat, das durch die Forschungsergebnisse der ersten Förderperiode deutlich wurde.

translation missing: de.icon_seitenanfang
request.remote_ip=54.167.15.6