Address 1*

Classification in categories

  • Transition between two social systems

 

Please enable JavaScript in Your browser.

Movie: Gung Ho!*
Number: 01
Individual analysis: Gung Ho!*
Timecode start: 00:01:16:19
Timecode end: 00:02:22:16
Year of origin: 1943

The first scene creates a smooth transition from the “factual record” promised by the opening titles to a speaker who acts as an introductory instance. Not until time and place are stated is the speaker shown to be a diegetic figure, who appears in the shot.

In terms of imagery, the address is situated at the intersection of nation and army, of the flag and uniformed masses. The static geometry and frontality of the shot composition formally echo the stasis and frontality of the military address (> EMU 1).

This frontality aligns a radical characteristic of the principle of the military address with the cinematic staging. It establishes the film’s relation to the reality of war and to the audience, as made clear by the gaze into the camera at the words “who are prepared to kill and be killed.”    MG

Expressive movement units

01 

Materials about the scene

    Position of the scene in the film

    01_position_gung_ho_interact

    translation missing: en.icon_seitenanfang
    request.remote_ip=18.206.76.226

Ansprache 1*

Kategoriale Zuordnung

  • Übergang zwischen zwei Gesellschaftsformen

 

Für eine optimale Darstellung dieser Seite aktivieren Sie bitte JavaScript.

Movie: Gung Ho!*
Ordnungsnummer: 01
Einzelanalyse: Gung Ho!*
Timecode von: 00:01:16:19
Timecode bis: 00:02:22:16
Entstehungsjahr: 1943

Die erste Szene schafft einen gleitenden Übergang von dem „factual record“, den die Schrifttafel verspricht, über einen Sprecher als Einleitungsinstanz, der sich erst nach der Benennung von Ort und Zeit als diegetische Figur erweist und im Bild erscheint.

Die vorgetragene Ansprache ist bildlich konkret im Schnittpunkt von Nation und Armee, Flagge und uniformierter Masse verortet. Die statische Geometrie und Frontalität der Bildgestaltung nehmen dabei formal die Statik und Frontalität der militärischen Ansprache-Situation auf (> ABE 1).

Diese Frontalität, in der eine radikale Ausprägung des Prinzips der militärischen Ansprache und die filmische Inszenierung zur Deckung kommen, stellt den Bezug des Films auf die Kriegsrealität und die Kino-Zuschauer heraus, wie der Blick in die Kamera bei den Worten "who are prepared to kill and be killed" deutlich macht.    MG  

Ausdrucksbewegungseinheiten (ABE)

01 

Materialen zur Szene

    Position der Szene im Film

    01_position_gung_ho_interact

    translation missing: de.icon_seitenanfang
    request.remote_ip=184.72.102.217