To Overview
translation missing: en.zurueckNext

The eMAEX-System – B: ANALYSIS

In deploying the manuals, the different stages of our process of analysis consist of identifying, evaluating and describing the pathos scenes.



Stage one is the identification of pathos scenes. At first, scenes are determined as temporal segments within the film. These segments are then classified as instances of pathos scenes. This classification is guided by the manual with regard to plot constellations and forms of cinematic expression

 Identification of pathos scenes

1 determine scenes as temporal segments
2 classify these segments as instances of pathos scenes

Stage 2: Evaluation of pathos scenes as poetics of affect



After three scholars individually identified and classified the pathos scenes of a film on stage two, we evaluate the accordance of their findings. For this the scholars record time-code based scene logs. These logs are checked for consistency of temporal segmentation and categorical differentiation. Following a strict procedure ,the individual logs are merged into a master log comprised of the conformed data from the individual logs.

 Evaluation of pathos scenes
as poetics of affect

1 Recording the logs
2 Checking the consistency
3 Merging the logs into a master-log

The master log is then transcribed into a diagram. It represents a single film’s macro level of the poetics of affect. From left to right the diagram visualizes the temporal distribution of the pathos scenes over the course of the film. The colored boxes represent the categorical classification of scenes. By comparing the diagrams we can recognize the re-occurring patterns. The degree of variances of the patterns indicates the historical variations in the war film genre.



Stage 3: Analysis of pathos scenes



Thirdly, we describe the scenic composition and the expressive movement units. As defined in a second manual, we focus on the dynamic patterns and expressive movement. Central objective of the manual is to guarantee a systematic and intersubjective form of description provided by a predetermined order of analytic steps.

The first step is to identify the distinctive dynamic pattern of a pathos scene; the next step is to describe this dynamic pattern as a composition of expressive movement; the third step is to divide the scene into expressive movement units; the following step is to describe the expressive movement units on different compositional levels of the audiovisual image, after that according to our assumptions we go on to qualify the affective values of the scene, activated by the expressive movement; and finally we are currently working on visual transcription of the affective potential of compositional microstructures.

– identify the dynamic pattern of a pathos scene
– describe these  patterns as a composition of expressive               movement
– divide a scene into expressive movement units (EMU)
– describe these units on different compositional levels
– qualify the affective values of the scene
– transcribe the results into a diagram

Analysis of
pathos scenes
as composition of expressive movement

This is a prototype of our diagram. From left to right it visualizes the temporal unfolding of the scene; In the x-axis the expressive movement units are given, this particular scene is divided into three expressive movement units. The colors here match the realms of affect. The curve indicates their degree of intensity.

To Overview
translation missing: en.zurueckNext
translation missing: en.icon_seitenanfang
request.remote_ip=3.236.51.151

Zur Übersicht
translation missing: de.zurueckVor

Das eMAEX-System – B: ANALYSE

Die verschiedenen Ebenen unseres Analyseprozesses umfassen die Identifikation, Evaluierung und Beschreibung der Pathosszenen, jeweils gemäß der in den Manuals dargelegten Vorgehensweise.



Ebene 1: Die Identifikation der Pathosszenen bildet dabei die erste Ebene. Zunächst werden Szenen als zeitliche Segmente des Films bestimmt. Anschließend werden die Szenen in Bezug auf die kategoriale Einteilung der Pathosszenen klassifiziert. Die Klassifizierung folgt den im Manual dargelegten Handlungs- und Figurenkonstellationen sowie den jeweils zugewiesenen Affektbereichen.

 Identifikation der Pathosszenen

1. Bestimmung der Szenen als zeitliche Segmente
2. Klassifizierung der Szenen als kategoriale Typen von Pathosszenen


Ebene 2: Evaluation der Abfolge von Pathosszenen als filmische Affektdramaturgie



Nachdem drei Filmwissenschaftler unabhängig von einander die Pathosszenen eines Films identifiziert und klassifiziert haben, werden ihre Ergebnisse miteinander verglichen. Dazu erstellen die beteiligten Wissenschaftler jeweils ein timecodebasiertes Szenenprotokoll. Diese Protokolle werden auf Übereinstimmungen bei der zeitlichen Segmentierung und kategorialen Klassifizierung überprüft und nach festgelegten Richtlinien zu einem Master-Protokoll zusammengeführt.

 Evaluation der Abfolge von Pathosszenen
als filmische Affektdramaturgie

1. Erstellen der Szenenprotokolle
2. Überprüfung auf Übereinstimmung
3. Zusammenführung in ein Masterprotokoll




Das Master-Protokoll wird anschließend zu einem Diagramm ausgearbeitet, welches wir als Darstellung der affektdramaturgischen Makro-Ebene des Films fassen. Von links nach rechts visualisiert das Diagramm die zeitliche Abfolge der Pathosszenen im Filmverlauf. Die farblich markierten Felder repräsentieren die kategoriale Klassifizierung der Szenen. Ein Vergleich der Diagramme ermöglicht es uns, wiederkehrende Muster in den Blick zu nehmen. Der Grad der Variation dieser Muster verweist auf die historischen Variationen innerhalb des Kriegsfilmgenres.


Ebene 3: Analyse der Pathosszenen

In einem dritten Schritt beschreiben wir die szenische Komposition und die jeweiligen Ausdrucksbewegungseinheiten. Wie im zweiten Manual festgelegt, rücken wir dabei das dynamische Muster und die Ausdrucksbewegung einer Szene ins Zentrum. Ein zentrales Ziel des Manuals ist es, mittels standardisierter Arbeitsschritte eine systematische und intersubjektive Form der Beschreibung filmischer Expressivität zu garantieren.


Der erste Schritt besteht darin, das spezifische dynamische Muster einer Pathosszene zu identifizieren und als Ausdrucksbewegung zu beschreiben. Im zweiten Schritt wird die Szene in Ausdrucksbewegungseinheiten unterteilt. Diese werden dann in Bezug auf verschiedene Gestaltungsebenen des audiovisuellen Bildes beschrieben. Anschließend wird das dynamische Muster der Szene als ein kompositorisches Zusammenspiel von Ausdrucksbewegungseinheiten konkretisiert. Schließlich wird die affektive Orientierung der Szene, die durch die Ausdrucksbewegung aktiviert wird, qualifiziert. Aktuell arbeiten wir zudem an einer Visualisierung des affektiven Potentials der kompositorischen Mikrostrukturen.

  • Identifikation des dynamischen Musters einer Pathosszene
  • Beschreibung dieses Musters als Komposition von     Ausdrucksbewegungen
  • Unterteilung der Szene in Ausdrucksbewegungseinheiten (ABEs)
  • Beschreibung dieser Einheiten auf mehreren Gestaltungsebenen
  • Qualifizierung der affektiven Orientierung einer Szene
  • Übertragung der Ergebnisse in ein Diagramm

Analyse der
Pathosszenen
als Komposition von Ausdrucksbewegungen




 

Dies ist ein Prototyp des Diagramms. Von links nach rechts visualisiert es die zeitliche Entfaltung der Szene. Auf der X-Achse sind die Ausdrucksbewegungseinheiten vermerkt – diese Szene ist z.B. in drei Ausdrucksbewegungseinheiten unterteilt. Die Farben signalisieren den jeweiligen Affektbereich, der Kurvenverlauf wechselnde Intensitäten.


 
Zur Übersicht
translation missing: de.zurueckVor
translation missing: de.icon_seitenanfang
request.remote_ip=54.227.186.112