Jungle battle and the machine gun nest*

Classification in categories

  • Battle and nature
  • Battle and technology
  • Suffering / victim / sacrifice

 

Please enable JavaScript in Your browser.

Movie: Gung Ho!*
Number: 14
Individual analysis: Gung Ho!*
Timecode start: 00:51:57:11
Timecode end: 01:00:18:13
Year of origin: 1943

Through the interplay of the camera and the sound design, in this scene an image of military battle is developed that is accomplished through different figurations of increasing/decreasing dynamic. Its dramaturgical position is between the soldiers’ entry into war (> "Preparation to land, landing") and further battles (> "Radio station raid").

The scene first develops two dynamic processes through the way it is staged which both counter and build upon one another. In the beginning, increasing tension is built through camera movements, silence and an increase in editing frequency and culminates in a moment of soldierly sacrifice (> EMU 1). The moment of shock connected to this is the starting point of an ecstatic outburst of visual and auditory events, a figuration of disorientation whose audiovisual excess is reined in by the camera and in the end transitions to a decreasing dynamic.(> EMU 2).

The thus established principles of acceleration and deceleration, staged as the sensatory equivalent of struggle in battle, are now, in a complex curving series of variations that refer to one another, brought together in an emphatic image of heroic sacrifice (> EMU 3).This seeming climax and culmination of the battle transitions finally to an epilog in which the dynamic relationship of  image and sound is modified, while this modification provides the background for a final second of fright at the moment of the seemingly hard-won calm —as in a horror film. (> EMU 4).    JHB

Expressive movement units

01 02 03 04 

Materials about the scene

    Position of scene in film

    14_position_gung_ho_interact

    translation missing: en.icon_seitenanfang
    request.remote_ip=18.206.76.226

Dschungelkampf und das MG-Nest*

Kategoriale Zuordnung

  • Kampf und Natur
  • Kampf und Technologie
  • Leiden / Opfer

 

Für eine optimale Darstellung dieser Seite aktivieren Sie bitte JavaScript.

Movie: Gung Ho!*
Ordnungsnummer: 14
Einzelanalyse: Gung Ho!*
Timecode von: 00:51:57:11
Timecode bis: 01:00:18:13
Entstehungsjahr: 1943

Im Zusammenspiel der Kamera mit der Akustik entwickelt die Szene ein Bild des militärischen Gefechts, das sich über unterschiedliche Figurationen eines dynamischen An- und/oder Abschwellens realisiert. Sie steht dramaturgisch zwischen dem Eintritt der Soldaten in den Krieg (> "Landungsvorbereitungen und Landung") und weiteren Gefechten (> "Sturm auf die Funkstation").

Die Szene entwickelt inszenatorisch zunächst zwei dynamische Verläufe, die sowohl einander entgegnen als auch aufeinander aufbauen: Zunächst kulminiert eine über Kamerabewegung, Stille und ansteigende Schnittfrequenz aufgebaute, anschwellende Anspannung in einem Moment des soldatischen Opfers (> ABE 1). Der damit verbundene Schreckmoment wird zum Ausgangspunkt einer ekstatischen Entladung visueller und auditiver Ereignisse, einer Figuration der Orientierungslosigkeit, deren audiovisueller Exzess über die Kamera gebändigt und in eine zum Ende hin abschwellende Bewegung überführt wird (> ABE 2).

Die auf diese Art inszenatorisch als sinnliche Entsprechungen des Ringens im Gefecht etablierten Prinzipien der Be- und Entschleunigung werden nun in einer komplexen, kurvenförmigen Abfolge aufeinander bezogener Variationen zu einem emphatischen Bild des heroischen Opfers verdichtet (> ABE 3). Dieser scheinbare Höhe- und Endpunkt des Gefechtsverlaufs wird schließlich in einen Epilog überführt, der einerseits inszenatorisch das Verhältnis von Bild- und Ton-Dynamik modifiziert, andererseits vor dem Hintergrund dieser Modifikation – ganz im Stil des Horrorfilms – einen letzten Schreckmoment inmitten der vermeintlich erkämpften Ruhe birgt (> ABE 4).    JHB  

Ausdrucksbewegungseinheiten (ABE)

01 02 03 04 

Materialen zur Szene

    Position der Szene im Film

    14_position_gung_ho_interact

    translation missing: de.icon_seitenanfang
    request.remote_ip=34.239.172.52