Radio station raid*

Classification in categories

  • Battle and nature
  • Battle and technology
  • Suffering / victim / sacrifice

 

Please enable JavaScript in Your browser.

Movie: Gung Ho!*
Number: 15
Individual analysis: Gung Ho!*
Timecode start: 01:00:18:13
Timecode end: 01:15:30:20
Year of origin: 1943

In the dramaturgy of the film, this scene is the heart of a three-stage campaign. It follows the first stage, the initial storming (> „Jungle battle and the machine gun nest“), is itself the stage of the extermination of the enemy and acts as a transition to the destruction of the abandoned enemy structures and withdrawal (> „Departure and evacuation“).

The scenic composition is based on the variation and blending of two sides of a combat mission as an abstract pattern: on the one hand the battle as the direct experience of the individual (small picture) and on the other hand as a tactical military operation that cannot be grasped by individual experience (big picture). Caught between these poles, predominantly on the level of shot composition and sound design as well as camera, an image is created of: 1. tension, 2. increasing tension, 3. relaxed camaraderie, 4. the desire to fight, 5. ecstasy, 6. triumphant collectivization, and 7. self-denying sacrifice.

The construction of figurations of these affective dimensions—and in one case also their negation—takes place in seven distinct units created through variations or blendings of an abstract pattern of the small picture and the big picture. In the course of these variations and blendings the big picture (commanders’ tower perspective), which counters an individual experience of the battle, is successively built up as an affective sensation of movement:

> EMU 1: Juxtaposition of small picture and big picture and their mutual mirroring: tension (1) and its negation

> EMU 2:The combat mission (small picture) as a figuration of movement along a set vector and its containment: increasing tension (2)

> EMU 3: Figuration of abstract war tactics (big picture):  relaxed camaraderie (3)

> EMU 4: The combat mission (small picture) as a figuration of containment (compare EMU 2): the desire to fight (4)

> EMU 5: Variation on combat missions (small picture) as a dissociation of space: ecstasy (5, with a transition to an image of mourning)

> EMU 6: Figuration of abstract war tactics (big picture), then merging of small picture and big picture: triumphant collectivization (6)

> EMU 7: Mutual mirroring of small picture and big picture: tension (1) and self-denying sacrifice (7)

In the first unit, different perspectives of a combat mission (small and big picture) are established by exemplary images. Firstly, the small picture emerges as an image of tension (1) on the level of shot composition and camera as well as sound design.  Secondly, the big picture (the operative goal and stratagem) are staged as an arrangement in which above and below mirror one another. The transmission of language through the media of radio communication is a central aspect of the abstract pattern of the big picture of war. In the end, the image of the big picture is generated during a briefing through the image of a map, an de-individualized perceptual space created by the interplay of the purely semantic content of the commander’s speech and the graphic portrayal of war tactics, deferring the affective dimension of this unit (> EMU 1).

This is followed by variations of the combat mission (the “small picture”) on two levels—the enemy soldiers and the Marines. These variations are accomplished through camera movements along a vector into space (Japanese) and the containment of this movement (Americans; > EMU 2).This is supported by the sound design, by means of the collision of two expressive qualities of the music, the contrast of the qualitative difference in the speech of the two warring parties and the loud rounds of gun fire. In this staging of combat as an expanding movement and its containment (> EMU 2), the image of increasing tension (2) is formed.

A pattern of abstract war tactics (big pictures, > EMU 3)is generated by the interplay of shot composition and camera. In contrast to the preceding units, an image of relaxed camaraderie (3) is also realized.

The fourth unit (> EMU 4) takes up the abstract compositional pattern of the second, but now an image of the desire to fight (4) is accomplished through the sound design and the camera work.


In this variation of combat, a spatial dissociation (> EMU 5), in which expanding movements can no longer be situated, the mission is generated as a direct sensory experience on the level of sound design, camera and shot composition. In this an image of ecstasy (5) is realized.

This figuration, parallel to a visualization of the big picture perspective in the unit that follows, is transferred into an image of triumphant collectivization (6) on the level of shot composition and shot design (> EMU 6). This step towards affective collectivization ends EMU 6 with the merging of the big picture and the small picture as the war tactics realized in the form of an image of euphoric enthusiasm.
In the last unit, a variation of the abstract pattern of a big-picture stratagem, established in the preceding unit, is accomplished on the level of shot composition and sound design in a scene of close combat. In it, an image of tension (1) is shifted to a figuration of the higher meaning of dying (7), still conveyed through the interplay of shot composition and sound design (> EMU 7).    DG

Expressive movement units

01 02 03 04 05 06 07 

Materials about the scene

    Position of scene in film

    15_position_gung_ho_interact

    translation missing: en.icon_seitenanfang
    request.remote_ip=18.204.2.231

Sturm auf die Funkstation*

Kategoriale Zuordnung

  • Kampf und Natur
  • Kampf und Technologie
  • Leiden / Opfer

 

Für eine optimale Darstellung dieser Seite aktivieren Sie bitte JavaScript.

Movie: Gung Ho!*
Ordnungsnummer: 15
Einzelanalyse: Gung Ho!*
Timecode von: 01:00:18:13
Timecode bis: 01:15:30:20
Entstehungsjahr: 1943

Die Szene und ist im dramaturgischen Verlauf des Films als Mittelstück einer drei Etappen umfassenden Kampagne angelegt. Sie folgte der ersten Etappe, der Erstürmung (> „Dschungelkampf und das MG-Nest“), bildet selbst die Etappe der Vernichtung des Feindes und leitet zur Zerstörung zurückgelassener feindlicher Einrichtungen und Abzug über (> „Aufbruch und Evakuation“).

Der szenischen Komposition liegt die Variation und Überblendung zweier Seiten eines Kampfeinsatzes als abstraktes Muster zugrunde: einerseits das Kampfgeschehen als unmittelbare Erfahrung des Individuums (small picture), andrerseits als taktische, nicht in der Erfahrung des Individuums greifbare, militärische Operation (big picture). In diesem Spannungsfeld realisiert sich vorrangig auf den Ebenen der Bildkomposition und der Akustik, sowie der Kamera ein Bild von: 1. Anspannung, 2. zuspitzende Anspannung, 3. entspanntes Beisammensein, 4. Kampflust, 5. Ekstase, 6. triumphale Vergemeinschaftung und 7. entsagendes Opfer.

Die Ausbildung von Figurationen dieser affektiven Dimensionen und – in einem Fall daran angeschlossen deren Negation – erfolgt in sieben distinkten Abschnitten, die sich entlang der Variationen bzw. Überblendung eines abstrakten Musters von small picture und big picture herstellen. In dem Verlauf dieser Variationen und Überblendungen realisiert sich das, einer individuellen Erfahrung des Kampfgeschehens zuwiderlaufende big picture (Feldherrenhügel-Perspektive), sukzessive als affektives Bewegungsempfinden:

> ABE 1: Gegenüberstellung von small- und big picture, sowie deren gegenseitige Spiegelung: Anspannung (1.) und deren Negierung

> ABE 2: der Kampfeinsatz (small picture) als vektorisierte Bewegungsfiguration und deren Eindämmung: zuspitzende Anspannung (2.)

> ABE 3: Figuration der abstrakten Kriegstaktik (big picture): Entspanntes Beisammensein (3.)

> ABE 4: der Kampfeinsatz (small picture) als Eindämmungsfiguration (vgl. ABE 2): Kampflust (4.)

> ABE 5: Variation der Kampfeinsatzes (small picture) als Dissoziierung des Raums: Ekstase (5., mit Übergang zu einem Trauerbild)

> ABE 6: Figuration der abstrakten Kriegstaktik (big picture), dann Überblendung von small picture und big picture: triumphale Vergemeinschaftung (6.)

> ABE 7: Gegenseitige Spiegelung von small- und big picture: Anspannung (1.) und entsagendes Opfer (7.)


Im ersten Abschnitt werden die unterschiedlichen Perspektiven auf einen Kampfeinsatz (small- und big picture) exemplarisch etabliert, indem sich zum einen das small picture als Bild einer Anspannung (1.) auf den Ebenen der Bildkomposition und der Kamera bzw. der Akustik realisiert. Zum anderen wird das big picture (das operative Ziel und eine taktischen Kriegslist) inszenatorisch an eine Spiegelanordnung einer Oben-Unten-Bezüglichkeit eingeführt. Die Medialisierung von Sprache im Rahmen der Funkkommunikation bildet einen zentralen Aspekt des abstrakten Musters eines übergreifenden Kriegsgeschehens. Schließlich generiert sich das Bild des big pictures in einer Lagebesprechung aus einer Kartendarstellung eines entindividualisierten Wahrnehmungsraums, der sich aus dem Zusammenspiel des rein semantischen Gehalts der Rede des Befehlshabers und der grafisch vermittelten Kriegstaktik ergibt und die affektive Dimension des Abschnitts (Anspannung) aussetzt (> ABE 1).

Dem folgt die Variation des Kampfeinsatzes (small picture) auf zwei Ebenen, der der feindlichen Soldaten und der der Marines. Diese Varianten realisieren sich durch die Kamera als vektorisierte Bewegung in den Raum (Japaner) und deren Eindämmung (Amerikaner; > ABE 2). Getragen wird dies von der Akustik, mittels der Kollision zweier Ausdrucksqualitäten der Musik, der Gegenüberstellung des qualitativen Unterschieds der Rede der jeweiligen Kriegspartei und laut tönenden Gewehrsalven. In dieser Inszenierung des Kampfgeschehens als Expansionsbewegung und deren Eindämmung (> ABE 2), bildet sich das Bild einer zuspitzenden Anspannung (2.) aus.

Das Muster einer abstrakten Kriegstaktik (big pictures, > ABE 3) generiert sich aus dem Zusammenspiel von die Bildkomposition und Kamera. Darin realisiert sich im Kontrast zu den vorangegangenen Abschnitten ein Bild des entspannten Beisammenseins (3.).

Der vierte Abschnitt (> ABE 4) greift das abstrakte Kompositionsmuster des Zweiten auf, jedoch realisiert sich auf Ebene der Akustik und der Kamera nun ein Bild von Kampflust (4.)

In der Variation des Kampfgeschehens, nun als Dissoziierung des Raums (> ABE 5), in dem sich Expansionsbewegungen nicht mehr verorten lassen generiert sich der Einsatz als unmittelbar sinnliche Erfahrung auf den Ebenen der Akustik, der Kamera und der Bildkomposition. Darin realisiert sich das Bild von Ekstase (5.).

Diese Figuration wird, parallel zu einer Verbildlichung der big-picture-Perspektive im Folgeabschnitt in das Bild einer triumphalen Vergemeinschaftung (6.) auf Ebene der Bildkomposition und der Akustik überführt (> ABE 6). Diesem Schritt affektiver Vergemeinschaftung schließt ABE 6 mit der Verschmelzung des big und des small-pictures als Realisierung der Kriegstaktik in Form eines Bildes euphorischer Begeisterung.

Im letzten Abschnitt wird das abstrakte Muster einer Kriegslist des big pictures, das in dem vorangegangenen Abschnitt etabliert wurde, auf Ebene der Bildkomposition und der Akustik im Rahmen eines Nahkampfes variiert. Darin realisiert sich nun ein Bild der Anspannung (1.), das überführt wird in eine Figuration des höheren Sinns des Sterbens (7.), weiterhin vermittelt durch das Zusammenspiel von Bildkomposition und Akustik (> ABE 7).    DG  

Ausdrucksbewegungseinheiten (ABE)

01 02 03 04 05 06 07 

Materialen zur Szene

    Position der Szene im Film

    15_position_gung_ho_interact

    translation missing: de.icon_seitenanfang
    request.remote_ip=3.233.219.101