Waco in the desert / Sacrifice in the ruins*

Classification in categories

  • Battle and nature
  • Suffering / victim / sacrifice

 

Please enable JavaScript in Your browser.

Movie: Sahara*
Number: 24
Individual analysis: Sahara*
Timecode start: 01:24:07:07
Timecode end: 01:26:50:21
Year of origin: 1943

In the interplay of the shot composition with the sound design, the motif of resignation is taken through the stages abandonment, hope and finally mourning. In the film’s dramaturgical structure the scene is between a moment of sacrifice  (> "Negotiations 2 - Leroux's fall") and a rescue  (> "Rescue in the desert").

The scene itself varies the motif of resignation. At first the metered editing of a series of long shots, motifs of the concept of abandonment, stage a moment of loneliness. (> EMU 1). This image is then transformed by a localization of the figures in the shot composition and the acoustic interplay of music and the sounds of gun shots into an ambivalent image between resignation, danger and hope  (> EMU 2).

Finally, out of this ambivalence a moment of tension carried by visual and acoustic acceleration first seems to be resolved in a melodramatic moment and then, in a final peripeteia, ends in a motif of mourning staged as a still life. (> EMU 3).    JHB

Expressive movement units

01 02 03 

Materials about the scene

    Position of the scene in the film

    24_position_sahara_interact

    translation missing: en.icon_seitenanfang
    request.remote_ip=44.197.231.211

Waco in der Wüste - Opfer in der Ruine*

Kategoriale Zuordnung

  • Kampf und Natur
  • Leiden / Opfer

 

Für eine optimale Darstellung dieser Seite aktivieren Sie bitte JavaScript.

Movie: Sahara*
Ordnungsnummer: 24
Einzelanalyse: Sahara*
Timecode von: 01:24:07:07
Timecode bis: 01:26:50:21
Entstehungsjahr: 1943

Im Zusammenspiel der Bildkomposition mit der Akustik variiert die Szene das Motiv der Resignation über die Stationen Verlassensein, Hoffnung und schließlich Trauer. Dramaturgisch steht die Szene zwischen einem Opfermoment (> "Verhandlungen 2 - Leroux in den Rücken") und einer Rettung (> "Rettung in der Wüste").

Die Szene selbst variiert das Motiv der Resignation: Zunächst wird über die metrische Montage einer Reihe von Totalen, die den Gedanken des Verlassenseins motivisch durchspielen, ein Moment der Einsamkeit inszeniert (> ABE 1). In der Folge wird dieses Motiv über die bildkompositorische Verortung der Figuren und das akustische Zusammenspiel von Musik und Schussgeräuschen hin zu einem ambivalent Bild zwischen Resignation, Gefahr und Hoffnung moduliert (> ABE 2).

Schließlich entfaltet sich aus dieser Ambivalenz heraus ein von visueller und akustischer Beschleunigung getragener Moment der Anspannung, die zunächst in einem melodramatischen Moment gelöst zu werden scheint – um dann nach einer finalen Peripetie in einem als Stilleleben inszenierten Trauermotiv zu enden (> ABE 3).    JHB 

Ausdrucksbewegungseinheiten (ABE)

01 02 03 

Materialen zur Szene

    Position der Szene im Film

    24_position_sahara_interact

    translation missing: de.icon_seitenanfang
    request.remote_ip=54.242.25.198